Saturday, October 22, 2016 Tishri 20, 5777
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
No Charge
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Keneseth Israel, founded in March 1847, was the fourth congregation to be established by the expanding Jewish community of Philadelphia. Orthodox in observance at first, KI adopted reform in 1855, and thus became the first progressive congregation

Iftar Dinner at KI

July 28, 2013 7:00 PM
On Sunday evening July 28 Keneseth Israel will host its third Iftar dinner.  The program begins at 7pm so that the Muslims in attendance can break their fast at sunset. An Iftar is a special fast-breaking dinner for Muslims during their holy month of Ramadan. In addition to fasting, Muslims remember their role in their communities as providers for the poor and people in need during Ramadan. Two Muslim groups, Dialogue Forum and Peace Islands Institute encourage their members to promote a better understanding of Islam and Muslims by organizing and sponsoring Iftar dinners. They reach out to other religious communities to promote a diverse involvement in this “Ramadan Experience.”

More Events from Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel

Thu. Oct 27
2:00 PM
KI’s “Senior Moments Committee” Presents: Once Upon a Neighborhood Thursday, October 27 2:00 p.m.
Fri. Oct 28
8:00 PM
Rabbi Lance J. Sussman Ph. D., Fall Forum: Talmud: The Classical Literature of Rabbinic Judaism with Joan Myerson Shrager M.Ed.: Emergence
Sun. Oct 30
10:30 AM
Brotherhood Autumn Brunch Sunday, October 30 10:30 a.m.
Listed In:
Mon. Oct 31
11:30 AM
Adult Education: Children of Holocaust Survivors Rachel Harad, Debby Kanner, Mimi Rosen, Judy Szekely Monday, October 31
Sun. Nov 27
7:00 PM
Library Film Series: A La Vie (2014) Thursday, October 27 7:00 p.m.
Listed In:

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2016-10-22
E.g., 2016-10-22

The Calendar

Sat. Oct 22
Old York Road Temple-Beth Am
9:00 AM
Sat. Oct 22
12:00 PM

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter