Saturday, July 26, 2014 Tammuz 28, 5774
Organization:
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
Cost:
Free and open to the public
Location:
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park  Pennsylvania  19027
United States
Comment0
Keneseth Israel, founded in March 1847, was the fourth congregation to be established by the expanding Jewish community of Philadelphia.

Book Discussion - Nemesis by Philip Roth

April 10, 2013 1:30 PM

An adult book discussion group take place on Tuesday April 9 at 1:30 p.m. and Wednesday April 10 at 10:30 a.m. We will discuss Nemesis by Philip Roth. Come to either the Tuesday or Wednesday session. Nemesis is a work of fiction. It takes place during the summer of 1944. The plot revolves around a polio epidemic and how it affects the Jewish community in Newark, New Jersey.

Roth examines the themes of disease, fear, panic, anger, guilt, bewilderment, suffering, and pain. He has said that Nemesis will be his last novel.
 
If you have questions, please call (215) 887-8700 and ask for the librarian or email libary@kenesethisrael.org

More Events from Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel

Fri. Oct 24
8:00 PM
Join us for Evening Shabbat Services at Keneseth Israel!
Fri. Oct 31
8:00 PM
Join us for Evening Shabbat Services at Keneseth Israel!
Fri. Nov 7
8:00 PM
Join us for Evening Shabbat Services at Keneseth Israel!
Fri. Nov 14
8:00 PM
Join us for Evening Shabbat Services at Keneseth Israel!
Fri. Nov 21
7:00 PM
Join us for our Family Shabbat Services at Keneseth Israel. Bring your children and extended family for this special fun, musical service! 

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2014-07-26
E.g., 2014-07-26
Advertisement

The Calendar

Mon. Jul 28
Melrose B'nai Israel Emanu-El
7:00 PM
Tue. Jul 29
Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia
7:30 AM-9:30 AM

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter

Subscribe to Jewish Exponent Email List

Sign up for our Newsletter

Advertisement