Monday, December 5, 2016 Kislev 5, 5777
Organization:
Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel
Cost:
Free and open to the public
Location:
8339 Old York Road
Elkins Park, PA 19027
Comment0
Keneseth Israel, founded in March 1847, was the fourth congregation to be established by the expanding Jewish community of Philadelphia. Orthodox in observance at first, KI adopted reform in 1855, and thus became the first progressive congregation

Book Discussion - Nemesis by Philip Roth

April 10, 2013 1:30 PM

An adult book discussion group take place on Tuesday April 9 at 1:30 p.m. and Wednesday April 10 at 10:30 a.m. We will discuss Nemesis by Philip Roth. Come to either the Tuesday or Wednesday session. Nemesis is a work of fiction. It takes place during the summer of 1944. The plot revolves around a polio epidemic and how it affects the Jewish community in Newark, New Jersey.

Roth examines the themes of disease, fear, panic, anger, guilt, bewilderment, suffering, and pain. He has said that Nemesis will be his last novel.
 

More Events from Reform Congregation Keneseth Israel

Sun. Dec 11
4:00 PM
Depue Brothers Band Magical, Grassical Holiday Concert Sunday, December 11, 4:00 p.m.
Mon. Dec 12
11:30 AM
Adult Education: American Art: Backstories Monday, December 12
Thu. Dec 15
11:30 AM
Adult Education: Protection of Bulgarian Jews During WWII Thursday, December 15
Thu. Dec 15
6:30 PM
You don’t have to be an artist to be able to paint a masterpiece!  We bring the art studio to Keneseth Israel. Paint "The Poppy Trio."  Enjoy dessert, coffee and tea; BYOB. $45 per person.
Fri. Dec 16
7:00 PM
Hanukkah Shabbat Evening Service

Browse the Calendar

Filter by Date
E.g., 2016-12-05
E.g., 2016-12-05
Advertisement

The Calendar

Subscribe To our E-Newsletter